What To Know In Obtaining a Texas HVAC License

Each state has specific HVAC Technician Requirements and rules that must be followed by all individuals providing heating, ventilation, refrigeration and air conditioning services.

The good news is that the requirements to obtain a Texas HVAC license are comparable to other states; however, it is different in that they have two distinct categories: “environmental air conditioning” and “commercial refrigeration and process cooling or heating” meaning that there are two types of licensing available for each.

In order to become licensed in the state of Texas, you are required to complete an exam and complete the forms including the Texas ACR Contractor License Application.

To make it easier to understand, here we provide a breakdown of all that is involved in the process to acquire a Texas HVAC license.

Texas HVAC Licensing

The state of Texas provides two different types of HVAC licenses: Class A license and a Class B license. These are the key differences between them:

A Class A License enables any type of air conditioning or refrigeration work in relation to a system or appliance of any size or capacity.

A Class B License enables any type of air conditioning or refrigeration work in relation to a system or appliance not in excess of the following:

  • 25 tons cooling capacity; or
  • 1.5 million British thermal units per hour output heating capacity.

Attaining these licenses enable you to carry out HVAC work for both commercial and residential cooling and heating appliances according to the terms covered by Class A and Class B licenses.

You could also potentially complete your exams and HVAC training online with an HVAC certification online program or alternatively in a local institution. This provides the freedom for people with a variety of lifestyles to attain a license.

There are quite a few requirements you require to meet in order to apply and go through the examination process for the Texas HVAC license so don’t forget to read them thoroughly.

Texas HVAC License Specifications

This is a brief overview of the path to securing HVAC certification in Texas:

• You must register as an ACR technician
• You must be at least 18 years of age
• You must have at least 5 years experience working with HVAC appliances under the guidance of a licensed technician
• Apply for the ACR contractors exam in order to become certified
• Choose the license you require – Class A or B
• Pass the ACR contractors exam
• Secure an HVAC position in the state of Texas

It’s important to note that in order to apply for the Texas HVAC license exam you must be at least 18 years old and must have at least 5 years experience in the HVAC industry. For more information about the exact requirements, you can read the official guidelines on the official site of the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation body.

The great thing is that you can attempt the Texas HVAC license exam an unlimited amount of times one year after submitting your application; however, it’s worth noting that each time there will be a fee. The moment you pass the exam you are certified and therefore free to practice as a certified and licensed HVAC technician in the state of Texas.

Once certified, you will require the necessary liability insurance prior to working, dealing with appliances and providing services.

ACR Certification Exam

Before you can submit yourself for the examination you have to meet the aforementioned standards. Once accepted for the exam, you can arrange a time and date by contacting PSI at 1-800-733-9267.

The exam for each of the Class A and Class B licenses varies in duration and test time:

  • Class A Exams consist of 120 questions and have a duration of 240 minutes test time
  • Class B Exams consist of 100 questions and have a duration of 180 minutes test time

The pass rate for the exam is 70% so you must answer 70% of the questions accurately.

Topics on the Exam: 

  • Refrigeration components
  • Regulations & Law
  • HVAC systems
  • Ductwork
  • Ventilation
  • Refrigeration concepts
  • Pressure relief safety
  • Combustion Safety